top of page
  • Writer's picturetaiwo2000luv

BLOG GUIDE WITH SHARIFAH 101 INTERVIEWS: Jasmine from Kkochsongi Part 1

Updated: Apr 29, 2018

Hello and welcome to Sharifah blog guide 101 interviews week 2.



In this Interview series, I Interview different bloggers with different niches worldwide.

Today’s Interviewee is a k-beauty blogger called kkochsongi.




Before I interview her, here is her blogging background.

Jasmine, a k-beauty blogger from Scotland who likes to blog about South Korean beauty products.



Obviously, Sharifah.

She writes reviews, morning routines and more on her blog.


Make sure you read her blog posts!

Website: http://www.kkochsongi.co.uk/

This Interview will cover…

• K-beauty

• Her blog posts

• Influence

• Struggles

• Tips

• Advice

And more!


If you’re planning to create a K-beauty blog like Jasmine, make sure you get your pen or pencil and a piece of paper and write notes.


Or… you don’t

It’s your choice.


This Interview is split into two parts.

Let’s begin!


S.B.G 101 part 1


S.O: When did you start your blog and why?


J: I initially started my blog back in 2014, however, I decided to make a switch from WordPress to google and restart my blog using the same username and really dove into it. It started (and remains) as a hobby for me, I am in love with various aspects of Korean culture and part of that involves the makeup. I usually spend a lot of my internet time reading reviews for these products, however, sometimes you don’t seem to come across certain items being reviewed. So I wanted to help others find the perfect products for them by sharing my experiences with them.


S.O: Who influenced you to create your blog and why?


J: I think in the beginning I took a lot of influence from Wengie, back in 2014 she was heavily focused on Korean beauty products and Korean beauty trends, so she seemed to influence me a fair bit to actually get my blog up and running.


S.O: Do you know any other Scottish k-beauty bloggers?


J: I don’t actually! I know a few other K-beauty bloggers situated in the Uk, but none in Scotland yet!


S.O: How did your interests extend to parts of the world?


J: I remember being 5 and being very heavily into the anime that was shown on TV in the mornings at the time, the library at school had a book all about Japan and Japanese culture. This began an interest in Japan which was then combined with my taste in video games (Final Fantasy being the main example here), which gradually turned into a very major interest in Korean culture. I feel like those are just two countries I have the most interest in, but it’s not limited to them.


S.O: Does Korean culture influence your sense of style, makeup and music and why?


J: In a lot of ways yes, in a few ways no.

My sense of fashion can sometimes (particularly in the summertime) be seen as being influenced by Korean fashion trends. But I also take a lot of inspiration from what is around me, what I see people walking around town in, what customers I serve are wearing, what my local stores sell. It’s definitely a bit of a mix when it comes to my fashion sense really.

Makeup is a definite influence. I wear a lot of Korean makeup and while I do try to keep up with some of the trends, not all of these trends are suitable for me and my features, due to me obviously being caucasian. So I may take certain aspects and combine them with more western makeup styles, particularly if I am going on a night out you’ll see a much more glam look on my face. I think the key points of Korean make up I like to keep to are the clear complexion, bright/pretty lip colours, shimmery eyes and either natural looking eyeliner or cat-eye eyeliner.

The majority of the music I listen to is either Korean Music (I love me some ballads) or some Game Soundtracks.



LittleMissFii.co.uk


S.O: What do you like about K-beauty?


J: The main thing that draws me to Korean beauty is the affordability for the price, combined with the quality. I also find the makeup shades tend to be more to my taste, especially in the way of lip colours. The focus on skincare first is another big thing and something I’ve only been taking into consideration for the past few years instead of just focusing purely on my make up.


S.O: What do you dislike about k-beauty?


J: The emphasis on it being this exotic ~weird~ trend. It’s a pet hate of mine and I don’t enjoy seeing it. It Sometimes makes finding genuine content about the products difficult to find without trying to ridicule it.


S.O: What does KKochsongi mean?


J: In short it just means “flowers” but the full meaning is “the bunch of flowers”.


S.O: Why did you choose it?


J: My own name is a flower (Jasmine), and I wanted a username a few years ago that wasn’t my own name and was a neutral kind of name, so kkochsongi came about.


S.O: Why did you decide to create your interview SERIES K beauty files?


J: I love reading other blogs about beauty products, however, I like to know deeper into the blogger's interests in the whole big world of Korean beauty itself. It gives me stories to read and also gives me an insight into other people’s beauty story.



S.O: Did you enjoy interviewing different k- beauty bloggers?


J: Yes! It’s something I definitely want to continue to do in the future.


S.O: Do you know any k-beauty youtubers/influencers? if yes, who are they?


J: I do! There is Fii (LittleMissFii.co.uk), Jennifer (barelytherebeauty.com | she also focuses a lot on high-end beauty), Chloe (TheWildReverie), Mindy (mymychen) and many more!



S.O: If you own a k-beauty business, what would you include in your products and why?


J: I would make sure I had a good balance of skincare and makeup products. Products I would definitely recommend myself to others through my own testing. Products with a cute yet sleek packaging too and that are decently affordable.


S.O: What is your favourite k-beauty product and why?


J: I don’t think I could pick one! But if I had to, at the moment it is the Airy Ink Velvets from Peripera. The best lip products I have ever used.


Hope you like this Interview blog post


There will be a part two of this interview blog post. If you have learned anything, please, comment below or email me to ask a range of questions.


Email: sharifahtaiwo31@gmail.com


Make sure you read part two!


Xoxo, Sharifah blog guide 101


P.S: There is an audio page where you can listen to this Interview :)

.............................................................................................................................................................

SONG OF THE DAY


Baek A Yeon- 'A Lot Like Love'

..............................................................................................................................................................

Credit: ashleygold25

39 views1 comment
bottom of page