top of page
  • Writer's picturetaiwo2000luv

BLOG GUIDE WITH SHARIFAH 101 INTERVIEWS: Jasmine from Kkochsongi Part 2

Updated: May 28, 2018


Hello again and welcome to week 2 of Sharifah blog guide 101 Interviews.


This part is different than the first part, and it’s because this part will focus on how to create a Beauty blog like Jasmine but not exactly like Jasmine’s beauty blog.

Since I don’t have the knowledge of a k-beauty blogger, I am going to learn like you guys!

So get your pen and paper and write notes!

Again, you don’t have to.


Warning: If you haven’t read part 1 of this blog post, make sure you do!



Let’s continue….


S.B.G 101 Interviews part 2


S.O: How do you write a beauty blog post?


J: I often start out with the photos 90% of the time. I work my way around the photos I have taken. The other 10% of the time I will write out the post in full and take the photos later on and try to make sure my photos fit my words. My preferred method is the first mentioned.

When writing I always write my introduction to the post first and try to make it sound as welcoming as I can. Then, I write pinpoints down the page to make sure I cover each aspect of performance when it’s a review or otherwise every point I want to speak about in the post.

It can take me between half an hour to several hours to write up a blog post, sometimes going away and coming back to it.


S.O: How do you come up with a blog post title?


J: I’m actually very simple with my blog titles, stating what it is. However, I’m trying to become a bit more imaginative with them. I try to describe what the post is about without talking about it by name, making it sound interesting without sounding (and being) clickbait.


S.O: How do you balance blogging with parenthood?


J: I find it difficult. I also work full time, so balancing the three is sometimes impossible.

At the end of the day, my blog is a hobby and I can always afford to take a back seat with it for a week or two if I feel it is necessary.

I usually take my blog photos when my child is sleeping, or if she’s decided to have a day without naps, I’ll make sure my partner can sit with her for an hour or two while I get some taken. Blog posts are usually outlined while I’m just relaxing on the couch and when she is in bed asleep that is when I will focus on the actual writing of the posts. However, there are some weeks I’m just too exhausted from work that none of that will happen and I just try to not put pressure on myself in regards to that.

S.O: What do you like about the k-beauty community?


J: I love how knowledgeable so many people are and how willing they are to share their experiences with certain products and showcase the difference that they make. I have found it’s also a bit more exciting to speak about the brands that I like with people that actually know the brand and the products. It makes me feel a little bit less weird about it.


S.O: When you were searching k-beauty related, did you find any of your blog posts?


J: I have more recently been finding some of my posts when I’m searching for certain things. I think I’ve managed to cover some products that are not as often shared, and I think that ties in with what my aim was when I started the blog. I think as well, with my blog ageing, the likelihood increases too.


S.O: what is your advice for people who want to start a k-beauty blog?


J: Just do it, begin it and start. Whether it’s makeup or skincare or both, just share what you love, your techniques and what about K-beauty you love.


S.O: When you first started your blog, did you struggle with blog stats?


J: Of course, I learnt various ways to try and improve them, I had moments when they were really bad and while I got disheartened I tried to make sure I didn’t get worked up about it.


S.O: What is your advice to someone who is struggling with blog stats?


J: Unless you are aiming to make a career out of blogging, try to not worry too much. Try and not let them get you down. Yes, numbers do matter but don’t let them dictate your worth. If you do intend on making a career out of it, look at what the bloggers you love and have made a career from it are doing, what aspects are making them successful. Look to them for some inspiration (without imitation) and see what works for you. Self-promotion is a big thing that is a major help. I find myself looking for other blogs in comments of blogs with similar interests to mine, so, if you read any k-beauty blog and want others to read your k-beauty related blog, post your link on your comments that you leave (leave a genuine comment and don’t just link drop).


S.O: How do you plan your blog posts?


J: I usually take photos first or writing first, depending on what the post is about. For instance, my beauty reviews I take the photos first so I have the photos with the products in their unused condition. I then make points down detailing which things I want to focus on when writing and then usually the title comes last. I sometimes write down blog post ideas in a diary and try to work with them.


S.O: Do you think other k-beauty bloggers are biased in their reviews and why?


J: I don’t think so, I feel K-beauty bloggers are often very honest with their critique. often sharing the positives and negatives but if a product sucks, they will let you know and what aspects of it make it so bad.


S.O: Is it hard to find k-beauty products in your area?


J: Yes, but I’ve become accustomed to purchasing them online so this isn’t an issue for me.

S.O: what motivates you to write a blog post?


J: Usually buying new products or reading a post from one of my favourite bloggers to give me some inspiration.



S.O: Do know any k-beauty products that would work on dry lips?


J: I actually don’t have a lot of products that work on my lips as it’s something that I’m trying to begin to look into! I have heard amazing things about the Laneige Sleeping Lip mask though.


S.O: What are your 5 tips to beauty bloggers?


J: Blog about the products you are genuinely interested in or were eager to try

Swatch photos can make the difference to review posts for me, it lets me know how they actually look on the skin rather than in the pan.

Don’t feel like a schedule is necessary, it can sometimes lead to posting when the inspiration wasn’t there and it may lead to a post you’re not as proud of.

Read other beauty reviews of either the products you are planning on reviewing to get different perspectives of how it can be written about.

Interact! Reply to the comments you get, if they left their link, read their blog and leave a comment, follow other bloggers on twitter or people that share your interests.



S.O: what are your 4 tips to take high-quality photos?


J: Your background, whether you go for pure white, coloured or with objects in the background, try and find a style that suits you.

My softbox is a saviour for my photos and costs only about 25 GBP on Amazon. Allows for great lighting even on dark days

Your camera kit isn’t a major thing, I’ve seen people take amazing photos on their phone. Use what is available to you and if you feel like it, you can invest in a camera. I personally use a Nikon D3300 with either the kit lens or the 35mm f1.8G lens (this is my more used one).

Don’t use direct flash!


S.O: is it hard to be a k-beauty blogger?


J: Not really, I find it easy as it’s something I have such a big passion for.




Thank you, Jasmine, for your answers and again, if you haven’t read part 1, make sure you do!


If you don’t want to read this blog post, listen to the audio version of this blog post!


I hope this blog post has helped you with your beauty blog; if I have missed something in this blog post, make sure you send me an email or comment below.


Email: sharifahtaiwo31@gmail.com


Should I interview other beauty bloggers?


Please tell me.


Share and comment!


Xoxo, Blog Guide With Sharifah 101

.........................................................................................................................................................

SONG OF THE DAY

[MV] IU(아이유) _ Through the Night(밤편지)

...........................................................................................................................................................

Credit: 1theK

40 views0 comments
bottom of page