top of page
  • Writer's picturetaiwo2000luv

CHAPTER 1: INTRODUCTION

Updated: May 26, 2018

Hello and welcome to Sharifah blog guide 101!


ELLE Magazines

Question: what is Sharifah blog guide 101?


Answer: Sharifah blog guide 101 is where I guide people towards the right way of blogging; since I have been writing for almost three years. In this blog guide, I will share several topics about blogging like…


  • Common mistakes

  • How to create a blog post

  • Interviews with different blog niches

  • Blog post ideas (a link to my personal blog post)

  • Blog Niche

  • Comments

And more!


Why a blog guide?


I want to create a blog guide mainly for new and small bloggers who are struggling in this industry or who don’t have a clue about blogging. Since I am a blogger myself for almost three years, I want to give an advice and warn bloggers about the disadvantages of being a small blogger/beginner in this industry.

I’m a small blogger myself to be honest who likes to share past experiences of blogging.

In this blog post, I want to share my personal story about how I started my blog and why I started my blog.


Blog guide with Sharifah 101 is an educational blog and it will cover educational subjects such as Marketing/digital marketing, statistics, Journalism and digital media.


  1. Marketing: Collaborations, how to promote, brand

  2. Statistics: blogging views, following techniques to avoid, main audience

  3. Journalism: Grammatical errors, articles

  4. Digital media: reputation, social media

Keywords: Niche, website, blog, identity, social media, goals


Definitions

Niche: A type of theme topic for your blog, e.g Health and Fitness

Website: A set of related web pages located under a single domain name.

Blog: A regularly updated website or web page.

Identity: A close similarity or affinity.

Social media: Websites and applications that enable users to create and share content or to participate in social networking.

Goals: The object of a person's ambition or effort; an aim or desired result.


Inspirational Video:


Jade Darmawangsa: RELENTLESS( A Day in A Life )*FORBES Inspired


This video has Inspired one of my Interviewee's to create her own blog.

Tas Interviews link: https://thetaslifestyle.wordpress.com/2018/02/24/tas-interviews-jenny-yu/


This video has inspired me to follow my blog goals!


How I became a lifestyle blogger?


2015


Before I started blogging, I didn’t know what to do with my career. When my younger cousin was watching dog with the blog in early 2015, I thought it would be stupid to sit on a chair and blog about your personal problems. If you don’t know what dog with a blog is, it’s a Disney channel programme about a talking dog who has a blog.


Dog With A Blog - Season 1 Opening Theme Song



Later on, I sat on my couch at home and thought I should start a blog after my Nursery work experience in year ten. On June 20th, 2015, I decided to create a lifestyle blog on blogger.com and wrote about myself on that blog. Sadly, I didn’t have the confidence to write a blog because I was embarrassed about my spelling, grammar, punctuation, mainly content. This was because was scared that people would be harsh towards me online; so I forced myself to create a blog on blogger to express my passion online. Since I care about layout and design, I didn’t like the layout on blogger so I moved to WordPress, which is where I am currently blogging. This is because the layout and design of WordPress are better than blogger. That’s my opinion, OKAY!


When I created my blog, I didn’t want people at my old school to find out about my hobby, why? It’s because I didn’t want people in my year to make fun of me for creating a blog or people becoming my friends in case I become successful due to my blog. In my geography class, I was talking to my friend at the time about what equipment I could buy, what photos to post for my blog and she overheard my friend and I's conversation. She wanted me to tell her about what I said to my friend at the time and I said I created a Dance Moms fan account on Instagram. She didn’t believe me and she wanted to me to tell her the truth. I didn’t want to tell her about my blog and Instagram account for my blog and it’s because again, I don’t want people to follow me on my Instagram account for my blog and make fun of me for having a blog, you know? The situation became more awkward for me so I went to the toilets and planned how I should tell her the truth. In my head, I thought I should use P.E.E to tell her the truth.


Point: what I want to say to her: So, I decided to create my blog after year 10 summer examinations.

Evidence: secretly show her what I will do to my blog.

Explanation: Tell her why I will create a blog after my year 10 examinations.


Geography trip 2014

Blog name

  • Dream wonderland

  • Dream couture

  • Couture wonderland

I thought about my full name.

  1. Taiwo

  2. Sharifah

  3. Ojeniyi

T A: Taiwo + S: Sharifah = T.A.S


That’s it!



I found my blog name, however, it was too short.


Searched different words for fashion and couture came up.

TAS couture!


I created my Instagram blog account on 16th Feb 2015. Then I deleted it.

When I told my sister, she persuaded me to create another Instagram blog account. She had an Idea for my blog name. She told me I should name my Instagram account thetaslifestyle.

Yes, finally!


2016


Before I left my secondary school, I didn’t want to show my face, why? For identity reasons obviously.

After Revision classes, 15 examinations, leavers, sixth form Induction, Prom or the ball, I became lazy.

I used a different blogging website to upload my blog posts (that’s another story I will share later on).

I didn’t feel like doing anything at all!

My attitude towards blogging was negative because I didn’t feel like blogging weekly and forced myself to blog.

I returned to WordPress in November 2016.


Sharifah's Primary school photo in 2009



2017


After May, I decided to blog two blog posts per week, which was hard at the start. I had to get used to it and create content for my readers.

Top 10 female vloggers was very popular in 2017 and were at the top of Google search engine.

I wondered why my blog post was clicked a lot so I searched BLACK PINK as if it's your last inspired looks/outfits. Moreover, my blog post was the third top websites on Google search engine. As if it's your last is a K-pop music video by BLACK PINK.

As a blogger, I am proud of getting noticed by different people worldwide who have the same interests as me.Furthermore, this means that my blog is growing organically (Naturally).



Sharifah in 2013

Thank you so much for reading my Introduction, if you are inspired and ready to read my future posts, please comment below or send me an email.

Good luck!


Xoxo Sharifah blog guide 101


Sharifah's Family

..............................................................................................................................................................

SONG OF THE DAY

Japanese Breakfast - The Body Is A Blade (Official Video)

..............................................................................................................................................................

Credit: Japanesebreakfast VEVO

38 views0 comments
bottom of page