top of page
  • Writer's picturetaiwo2000luv

CHAPTER 4: HOW TO WRITE A BLOG POST

Updated: May 26, 2018

Hello and welcome to blog guide with Sharifah 101!


In this chapter, I will teach you the basics on writing a blog post and I’ll show you the blog template I use 99% of the time.


Disclaimer: If you think this blog template is not right for you, I will put three YouTube videos that explain how to write a blog post in detail. Also, I am not an expert on writing blogs so this section is purely based on my preferences and experience!


So, let’s go.


Step 1: A blog post title

Make sure your title is memorable, catchy and searchable.

Think of the way you type things into search engines and mimic that kind of style in your titles to ensure maximum "searchability"


Example blog post: Top 10 female vloggers 2018


Link: https://thetaslifestyle.wordpress.com/2018/01/20/top-10-female-vloggers-2018/


Step 2: Introduction

In your blog post, make sure you introduce your content with a warm welcome to your readers.

Here are some examples

“Hello readers”

“Hey guys”

“Hi lovelies”

When you first meet your friend, family, whoever, how do you greet them?

I say Hi or hey when I first see someone I know.


"So does everyone Sharifah!"


I know but, but the point is to make sure that people feel welcome when reading your blog so that they'll want to come back.


Imagine you’re talking to an audience when introducing your blog post like you’re introducing a play or a YouTube video.


Watch the intro of this video

Introduce what you want to write about and why you want to write it.

Example blog post

HELLO READERS,

This is my first fashion blog post on modest outfits!

I decided to do this blog post because of my Muslim readers or readers who cannot wear certain clothes such as…

Short skirts

Short dresses

Tops that expose your chest in public.

What are modest clothes?

According to Oxford Dictionaries.com, Modest clothes are dressing or behaving so as to avoid impropriety or indecency, especially to avoid attracting sexual attention.

Hope you like these outfits!

So…

LET’S BEGIN!


Step 3: Main content

For your main content, write about things that you are interested in; remember the niches that we were talking about two blog posts ago?

Your topic can be whatever you want it to be, as long as it relates to one of your chosen niches. e.g. a review, a recipe or an article.

An example

Main content: Taste test: Q2HAN’S oatmeal cookies

Link: https://thetaslifestyle.wordpress.com/2018/02/09/test-test-q2hans-oatmeal-cookies-recipe/

THE INGREDIENTS

  • Three Bananas

  • Oats

  • Mixed nuts

  • Blueberries

  • Oil

EQUIPMENT

  • Bowl

  • Fork

  • Foil

  • Oven tray

WHAT I DID

  1. pre-heat the oven

  2. Peel the bananas and put the peeled bananas in the bowl

  3. Smash the bananas until it’s mushy

  4. Pour the oats into the bowl and mix it

  5. Add the mixed nuts to the bowl and mix it together

  6. Put the foil on top of the oven tray

  7. Put the oil on the foil and spread it all over the foil on the oven tray

  8. Shape the mixture into a cookie shape

  9. Put the blueberries on top of the oatmeal cookies

  10. Put the cookies in the oven

  11. I put the cookies in for 20 or 30 minutes

  12. Note: I didn’t smash the nuts and I wasn’t sure how long I should leave the cookies in for. I also added sugar to the mixture because I want the cookies to taste sweet.

THE RESULTS

It was hard for me to get the cookies out from the tray and it’s because the bottom was very sticky.

Two cookies fell apart 😦


THE TASTE TEST

I really like the texture of the oatmeal cookies, however, I wasn’t a fan of the nuts in the oatmeal cookies. Overall, the cookies are really good.

Overall Score: 7/10


Or…


21 buttons review

WHAT is 21 BUTTONS?

According to Google Play, 21 buttons is the ultimate fashion, social and shopping network. It provides the tools that every fashion lover is looking for and allows you to buy everything that your friends and favourite influencers have shared with just one click.

I decided to create my own 21 buttons account so I can follow other fashion accounts and find out where my friends and social influencers bought their clothes, shoes and accessories from.

WHAT I LIKE ABOUT 21 BUTTONS

I can zoom in on the outfit so I can see the material properly

I can click on the clothes, shoes and accessories to see where they bought it from

It shows the price, the name of the clothes, shoes and accessories and the store next to the image I’ve clicked on

I can save my favourite outfits

I like the layout of the app

WHAT I DON’T LIKE ABOUT 21 BUTTONS

The layout of the profile page

Sometimes, it is hard to find images of the clothes, shoes and accessories when you post an image and tag where you bought it

The app is quite boring, personally

The layout is very basic

Since I created my own account on 21 buttons on Christmas Eve, I haven’t discovered a lot of fashion influencers. I would recommend this app to anyone who is interested in fashion.


  • MAKE SURE YOU ADD PHOTOS OR IMAGES BETWEEN YOUR WRITING, SO IT DOESN'T BORE YOUR READERS.

Step 4: The ending

For the ending, write like you’re ending a conversation with someone, ending a paragraph, a text to someone or a show.

An Example

Link: https://thetaslifestyle.wordpress.com/2017/09/02/ootw-autumn-back-to-school-outfits/

Thank you for reading my blog post on my OOTW back to school outfits.

Announcements or anything you want to tell your readers before ending this blog post.

Have a lovely week and… Bye x.




Three videos on how to write a blog post

How to Create a Blog Post in Wordpress 2017


How To Write A Blog Post for Beginners (And Even Experienced Bloggers)

Thank you for reading this blog post.


If I have missed a few or more points about this topic, please, email me or message me on Twitter or Instagram. Email: sharifahtaiwo31@gmail.com


  • Twitter: sharifahtaiwo

  • Instagram: thetaslifestyle

Share and comment


Xoxo blog guide with Sharifah 101

..............................................................................................................................................................

SONG OF THE DAY

Spazzkid - "Truly" feat. Sarah Bonito (Official Video)

..............................................................................................................................................................


Credit: Thump

19 views0 comments
bottom of page